Announcing the 2020 USA Astronomy and Astrophysics Team!

We are excited to yet again bring 10 students to the IOAA, this time to Colombia:


Leo Yao (West Windsor-Plainsboro High School North)

April Cheng (Canyon Crest Academy)

William Huang (Lynbrook High School)

Sean Chen (Canyon Crest Academy)

Max Tan (Phillips Exeter Academy)

William Li (King High School)

Adithya Balachandran (High Technology High School)

Shion Murakawa (North Hollywood High School)

Jupiter Ding (State College Area High School)

Jared Machtinger (Adlai E. Stevenson High School)

Team leaders: dr. Tad Komacek (University of Chicago) and Sandesh Kalantre (University of Maryland)

For the first time in our history, all the travel and registration costs will be covered for the entire team.

We are extremely grateful to “The Masson Family Fund” for the generous donation and to the American Association of Variable Star Observers (AAVSO) for their help and support.

In addition to the team, we will invite several younger participants of the NAC to join the online training. Weekly online training is scheduled to start mid May. Together with the team leaders, we have several coaches: Nima Chartab Soltani (University of California Riverside), Katarine Emanuela Klitzke (Georgia Tech), Lucas Pinheiro (University of Notre Dame), Vlad Rosca (UCLA), and Natasa Dragovic (University of Texas at Austin). In the upcoming weeks you’ll get a chance to learn more about the team and the coaches.

We understand that this year’s exam was especially difficult for several reasons, so we want to congratulate all the participants. In order to increase transparency, we gave students an option to have their score released. You can find the official National Astronomy Competition results here.

We thank again all the volunteers for all their work! If you have any questions or want to get involved next year, email us at